Anybody have good general guidelines?

Anybody want to share good guidelines in creating a bot? This is my first time participating. I know c++/python but no game AI experience.
Not looking for specific strategy but just good practices to rapidly develop/test the bots.

1. You guys use the docker image provided by someone to create your own gym?

2. If you let your bots battle out against each other, how much of the available halite should they extract to qualify as “good” bots? 80% of Halites in the map?

3. Any good link for a starting point? Pathfinding? Does your bot have multiple phases? Begin, mid game and ending?

1. I think in the beginning it is fine to just run your bot against itself manually to check whether you improve performance or not. (Just make sure you test a couple of different seeds)

I still do it like that, mostly. Just before submitting I run a script which plays a variety of different map sizes and games against my previous bot.

1. I am not tracking this, I check games that my bot plays (either against itself or on the ladder) and see what goes wrong and why I lost and then I improve this part. If my new bot consistently wins against my previous version I submit it. I know you can get really fancy with it but see bottom comment.

2. Start out with any of the starter kits and build your bot from there. Can you do something that is smarter than random moves? E.g. move towards high halite areas and collect there and properly return halite to the shipyard. Can you avoid collisions etc. solving those problems easily brings you into the top 300 I think.

I went from simple to pretty elaborate and complicated (A* or some dynamic programming and calculating the highest halite/step targets and so on and so forth) back to rather simple, because simple just outperformed